

TO: The WSU Faculty Senate

FROM: The Faculty Senate Steering Committee

RE: Amendment to Article III, Section 3, Paragraph D of the Faculty Senate Constitution

We propose the following amendment to Article III, Section 3, Paragraph D of the Faculty Senate Constitution. The proposed language clarifies the membership roles and the allocation of votes among members of the Steering Committee.

Red-line version:

The Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Chair-Elect, and Executive Secretary of the Faculty Senate shall, *ipso facto*, be members and officers of the Steering Committee. Additional Steering Committee members shall include the Chair of the Senate from the previous year and the chairs of the following committees: Academic Affairs, Budget, Faculty Affairs, Graduate Studies, Research and Arts, and Professional Health Sciences, along with one tenure-track and one career-track representatives from the each non-Pullman campuses, excluding Global Campus.

Each member of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate shall have one vote in the Steering Committee. Each non-Pullman campus shall have one vote in the Steering Committee. Each of the Senate Committees listed in this section shall have one vote in the Steering Committee. If more than one representative of a committee or campus is voting in the Steering Committee, their votes shall be evenly apportioned to the one vote assigned to that committee or campus.

The Legislative Representative and the Faculty Regent shall be *ex officio* members of the Steering Committee. These are non-voting roles.

Clean version:

The Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Chair-Elect, and Executive Secretary of the Faculty Senate shall, *ipso facto*, be members and officers of the Steering Committee. Additional Steering Committee members shall include the chairs of the following committees: Academic Affairs, Budget, Faculty Affairs, Graduate Studies, Research and Arts, and Professional Health Sciences, along with one tenure-track and one career-track representative from each non-Pullman campus, excluding Global Campus. Each member of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate shall have one vote in the Steering

Committee. Each non-Pullman campus shall have one vote in the Steering Committee. Each of the Senate Committees listed in this section shall have one vote in the Steering Committee. If more than one member of a committee or campus is voting in the Steering Committee, their votes shall be evenly apportioned to the one vote assigned to that committee or campus.

The Legislative Representative and the Faculty Regent shall be *ex officio* members of the Steering Committee. These are non-voting roles.

Respectfully submitted,

Matt Hudelson, Faculty Senate Executive Secretary