Department of Mathematics



TO: Craig Parks, Chair of Senate

FROM: Judith McDonald, Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee

SUBJECT: Proposed changes to the Faculty Manual

The Faculty Affairs Committee has the following suggested change to the Faculty Manual:

On Page 7 of the faculty manual there is a reference to the EPPM. The designation of academic units is currently covered by a Memorandum of Understanding between the Provost and Senate. We suggested removing the crossed out sentence in bullet (b), and adding the italicized paragraph at the end of the bullets, since the MoU covers the units in (a)-(d).

"1. Designation of Academic Unit

- a) A college is an organization of schools, departments, special programs and other units which have broad, common instructional and research interests. The administrative head of a college is a Dean.
- b) A school is a combination of two or more departments, programs or curricula that functions as an alternative to a department. Requirements and procedures for the establishment of a school are given in the Educational Policies and Procedures Manual. The administrative head of a school is a Director.
- c) A department is defined as an academic unit with a faculty which performs the regular duties of instruction, research, and service in all matters relating to curricular and educational policies of the unit, subject to approval of the Faculty Senate. The administrative head of a department is a Chair.
- d) An academic program (interdepartmental) is defined as a program with an individual budget, an administrative officer, and a set of courses leading to a degree. Faculty who participate in the academic program may maintain a departmental affiliation. The administrative head of an academic program is a Director."

The procedures for creating, combining or eliminating academic units are covered in a Memorandum of Understanding between the Provost and Senate found at http://facsen.wsu.edu/eppm/MOU.pdf.