Section 1: Elected Members

The Senate shall consist representatives of the permanent (tenured and tenure-track) faculty, temporary faculty elected by college, representatives allocated specifically to the urban campuses, and the president of the Graduate and Professional Student Association. Apportionment is given in Section 4 below.

Section 4: Apportionment

- **A. Constituencies** Two faculty members from each college shall represent the major constituencies, with two elected from each constituency. The constituencies are defined as the College of Agriculture Human and Natural Resource Sciences; the College of Engineering and Architecture; the College of Veterinary Medicine; the College of Business; the College of Education; the College of Pharmacy; the College of Arts and Sciences; the College of Nursing; the College of Communication; and the faculty of the Library. Additional Senate seats dedicated to constituencies shall be allocated proportionally on the basis of the number of permanent full-time equivalent (FTE) faculty greater than 50within these constituencies greater than 25. Another eight members of the Senate shall represent temporary faculty in eight constituencies designated as the College of Arts and Sciences (3); College of Engineering & Architecture; College of Nursing; College of Agriculture, Human and Natural Resource Sciences; Colleges of Veterinary Medicine and Pharmacy; and Colleges of Business and Education;. One seat in the Faculty Senate is designated for representation by the President of the Graduate and Professional Student Association.
- **B. Subconstituencies** By majority vote a constituency may allocate its quota of senators to subconstituencies consisting of single departments, groups of closely related departments, or other subdivisions. However, the entire quota or any portion thereof may be elected at large.
- **C. Distribution of Honors Positions** Full-time equivalent faculty positions assigned to the Honors Program and to all other programs shall be allocated to the areas in which they are distributed.
- **D. Reapportionment** Each year the Executive Secretary of the Senate shall be responsible for the reapportionment of Faculty Senate seats at least 60 days prior to the election of Senate members and for determining the number of senators to be elected from each consistency. Elections of Senators shall be completed by May 1 of every year.