

Office of Faculty Senate

To: David Turnbull, Chair of Senate

From: Doug Call, Chair of Committees on Committees and Coll

Date: March 19, 2021

RE: Special Reappointment of Dr. Jeb Owen to Research & Arts Committee

Dr. Tammy Barry (second term ending 2022) and Dr. Jeb Owen (second term ending 2021) are the co-chairs of the Research and Arts Committee (RAC). No committee members are able to serve as co-chairs for the next academic year. This leaves RAC with only a single co-chair (Dr. Barry) and no means to ensure institutional continuity after the 2021 academic year. Dr. Owen is willing to continue serving as a co-chair for a minimum of two years to ensure institutional continuity. The Committee on Committees has reviewed and agreed to his request for an exception to policy allowing him to serve a third consecutive term.

Consequently, the Committee on Committees recommends that the Faculty Senate approve a special reappointment of Dr. Jeb Owen to a third consecutive three-year-term on the Research and Arts Committee.