

Office of Faculty Senate

MEMORANDUM

TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Amy Nielsen, Faculty Senate Executive Secretary

RE: Faculty Representation from the Honor's College

DATE: January 17, 2020

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee on January 16, 2020 recommends the following based upon a request received from the Honors College:

Faculty Senate representation should be expanded to include the Honors College as a major constituency, along with the changes to the Faculty Senate Constitution as below.

Proposed Changes to Faculty Senate Constitution: Article 2, Section 4: Apportionment, Constituencies

Two tenure track faculty members shall be elected to represent each major constituency. The major constituencies are defined as each degree-granting college and the faculty of the Library and the Honors College. Additional Faculty Senate tenure track seats dedicated to the major constituencies shall be allocated by the following formula: the number of tenure track (FTE) faculty greater than 50 divided by 25, with fractional positions at 0.5 and above rounded up to the next highest integer, and below 0.5 rounded down to the next lowest integer. Non-tenure track faculty (Section 5, Part D) in each degree-granting college, including the Honors College, shall have 2 seats per degree granting college, plus additional representation as determined by the following formula: the total number of eligible non-tenure track faculty (Section 5, Part D) minus 50 divided by 50, with fractional positions at 0.5 and above rounded up to the next highest integer, and below 0.5 rounded down to the next highest integer, and below 0.5 rounded by the following formula: the total number of eligible non-tenure track faculty (Section 5, Part D) minus 50 divided by 50, with fractional positions at 0.5 and above rounded up to the next highest integer, and below 0.5 rounded down to the next lowest integer.

Article 2, Section 4: Apportionment, Distribution of Honors Positions

Full-time equivalent faculty positions assigned to the Honors Program and to all other programs shall be allocated to the areas in which they are distributed.